Pages Menu
FacebookTwitterPinterest
Categories Menu

K-9 Unit

Lieutenant Jon Turner
And K-9 Partner “Bolt”
K-9 Unit Commander
joturner@marionso.com

 

The Marion County Sheriff’s Office K-9 unit was formally established in 1987 and has currently has eight K-9 teams. Seven K-9 teams are trained and certified for narcotic detection and one team is certified in explosives detection. Each team within the K-9 Unit completes an annual certification that is mandated by the Florida Department of Law Enforcement.  Along with detection training the teams are also trained in human tracking, article and building searches, criminal apprehension and handler protection. The eight K-9 teams work alongside with the Patrol Deputies daily while providing assistance with the needs and requests of the other specialty units within the Agency.

The mission of the K-9 Unit is to support all Law Enforcement activity and the community of Marion County. This support is a force multiplier which assist in the apprehension of fleeing criminals, warrant searches, building and area searches,  search and rescue, pursuits, illegal drug eradication, bomb searches,  along with assisting patrol deputies with in-progress calls for service.  Aside from their law enforcement duties, the K-9 teams visit schools, churches, and businesses to give demonstrations of their canine’s abilities and to educate and give the public a better understanding of what the team is utilized for.

 


Deputy Tyson Collins
And K-9 partner “Sig”
tcollins@marionso.com

Corporal Adam Crawford
And K-9 partner “Cadet”
acrawford@marionso.com

Deputy Josh Parker
And K-9 partner “Hero”
jparker@marionso.com

Corporal Jared Shealy
And K-9 partner “Brit”
jshealy@marionso.com

Deputy Colton Sullivan
And K-9 partner “Pyro”
csullivan@marionso.com

Deputy Todd Winkler
And K-9 partner “Solo”
twinkler@marionso.com