Pages Menu
FacebookTwitterPinterest
Categories Menu

K-9 Unit

Lieutenant Jon Turner
And K-9 Partner “Bolt”
K-9 Unit Commander
joturner@marionso.com

 

The Marion County Sheriff’s Office K-9 unit was formally established in 1987.The Marion County Sheriff’s Office currently has eight K-9 teams. Seven K-9 teams are certified for drugs and out of the seven, two are cadaver detection certified and one K9 team is certified in explosives detection. Each team of the K-9 Unit meets minimum certification that is mandated by the Florida Department of Law Enforcement. The K-9 teams receive certification through the United States Police Canine Association, which is a national certification. Aside from their law enforcement duties, the K-9 teams visit schools, churches, and businesses to give demonstrations of their dogs’ abilities and to give the public the better understanding of what the team is utilized for.

The mission of the K-9 Unit is to support all Law Enforcement activity and the community of Marion County. This support includes, but is not limited to, apprehension of fleeing criminals, warrant searches, building and area searches, article searches, search and rescue, pursuits, illegal drug eradication, bomb searches, cadaver searches, and assisting patrol deputies on in-progress calls for service.

 


Deputy Tyson Collins
And K-9 partner “Sig”
tcollins@marionso.com

Corporal Adam Crawford
And K-9 partner “Cadet”
acrawford@marionso.com

Deputy Josh Parker
And K-9 partner “Hero”
jparker@marionso.com

Corporal Jared Shealy
And K-9 partner “Brit”
jshealy@marionso.com

Deputy Colton Sullivan
And K-9 partner “Pyro”
csullivan@marionso.com

Deputy Todd Winkler
And K-9 partner “Solo”
twinkler@marionso.com